



Helen Keller Prize for Vision Research Call for Nominations – 2026

The Helen Keller Foundation for Research and Education is accepting nominations for the **2026** Helen Keller Prize for Vision Research, presented in partnership with BrightFocus Foundation. Established in 1994, the Helen Keller Prize is one of the most prestigious and coveted awards presented in the field of vision research.

Worldwide nominations are hereby requested that recognize an individual of high character for research excellence as demonstrated by a number of significant research contributions to vision science during the course of a career or for a single research contribution of exceptional importance to vision science.

Helen Keller Laureates:

2025	To be Announced at a Later Date		
2024	José Cunha-Vaz, M.D., Ph.D.	2013	László Bitó, Ph.D.
2023	Gustavo D. Aguirre, V.M.D., Ph.D.;	2011	Endre A. Balazs, M.D.
	Jean Bennett, M.D., Ph.D.;	2010	Claes H. Dohlman, M.D., Ph.D.
	Samuel G. Jacobson, M.D., Ph.D.;	2009	Hugh R. Taylor, AC
	Albert M. Maguire, M.D. and	2008	Joram Piatigorsky, Ph.D.
	T. Michael Redmond, Ph.D.	2007	Elke Lütjen-Drecoll, M.D. and
2022	Mae O. Gordon, Ph.D. and	- 1	Johannes W. Rohen, M.D.
	Michael A. Kass, M.D.	2006	Judah Folkman, M.D.
2020	Sheila K. West, Ph.D., Pharm.D.	2005	Alfred Sommer, M.D., M.H.S.
2019	Jeremy Nathans, M.D., Ph.D. and	2004	Alan Bird, M.D.
	King-Wai Yau, Ph.D.	2003	David Maurice, Ph.D.
2018	Webster Cavenee, Ph.D.;	2002	Anders Bill, M.D., Ph.D.
	Thaddeus P. Dryja, M.D.;	2001	Donald Gass, M.D.
	Brenda L. Gallie, M.D. and	2000	John E. Dowling, Ph.D.
	A. Linn Murphree, M.D.	1999	Lorenz Zimmerman, M.D.
2017	Gerrit Melles, M.D., Ph.D.	1998	Norman Ashton, CBE, FRS, D.Sc.
2016	Dean Bok, Ph.D.	1997	Robert Machemer, M.D.
2015	Gordon Legge, Ph.D. and	1996	David Hubel, M.D. and
	Robert W. Massof, Ph.D.		Torsten Wiesel, M.D.
2014	Emily Y. Chew, M.D. and	1995	Bernard Becker, M.D.
	Frederick L. Ferris III, M.D.	1994	Arnall Patz, M.D.